Menu

Home
About Me
Pictures
Family
Friends
LiveJournal
Links


FAQ About Me





1. How do you pronounce your name?

Shyrie (shuh-REE)
2. How did you get your name?
My parents were hippies. My dad wanted to name me "Shy", but my mom talked him into turning it into Shyrie. My middle name is Ara. My dad wanted my name to mean something, so, he took the first 2 letters of each of my names to spell "Shared". Heh, hippies. =o)
3. Do you have any brothers or sisters?
I have 4 brothers. One is Wally, my older half brother from my father. I don't really know much about him. I have a younger step-brother, Jesse. He is my step dad's son. I have two younger half brothers, Daniel and Charlie. They are from my mom and step dad. My dad thinks he had a daughter, but has never been able to find out for sure (he saw his ex with a baby about a year after they broke up). I know nothing about her.
4. Where do you live?
I live in beautiful Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. I really love this city. The longer I am here, the more I love it.
5. Where do your parents live?
My mom, step dad and younger half brothers live in Tucson, Arizona. I don't really know where my father lives. One of my aunts lives in Philadelphia, and my other aunt (on my mom's side) lives in New Jersey, as well as my grandmother.
6. What do you like to do?
I am a fan of Industrial music. I like to go to live shows and "goth" nights at clubs. I love riding my bicycle all around the city. I like to hang out with my friends and watch films at the Ritz (usually foreign or "artsy" films). I like to sleep, but find it hard to manage with school. I like to drink coffee.
7. What is your favorite band?
I love a bunch of bands. Some of my favorites are Das Ich, Skinny Puppy (and all the side projects), Nine Inch Nails (old), Coil, Psychopomps and Current 93. There are tons of other bands I like too. There are even a few bands from the 70s in my collection.
8. What is your favorite movie?
If I had to chose one, I'd probably say Blue Velvet. It was one of the first "twisted" movies I saw. I really like a lot of movies. Other films I like are Rush, 8mm, Trainspotting, Drugstore Cowboy, My Own Private Idaho, The Matrix and The Rocky Horror Picture Show.
9. What is your favorite color?
I am a fan of black.. I know, I know.. It's not "technically" a color. I like green a lot too, and shades of dark blue, red and purple. But, mostly black and green.
10. Are you single?
When I am putting up this web page, yes, I am single. This could of course change at any moment. I am not "looking" for anyone at the moment, either. I am pretty happy being single.
11. What is your favorite TV show?
I don't really watch TV. I really used to like The X-Files and The Simpsons. Other than that, I don't watch TV in my free time at all. I see occasional shows at work or at friend's houses.
12. Who is your favorite author?
Hah! Me, read for fun? Not in years. I don't even know what I'd like to read for fun. School has sucked most of my free time away.
13. What do you go to school for?
I am a biology major at Rutgers University. I have an associate's degree from Community College of Philadelphia. It is in "Clinical Laboratory Technician". I want to work in either a research lab or a clinical lab once I get my diploma. After that, I want to start learning more about computers. Oh, I am a German Minor (well, hopefully).
14. Do you have any pets?
Yup, I have 2 1/2 cats, and 2 fishes. My cats are Schlaf (German for "sleep") and Clone. Schlaf was named because he used to fall asleep everywhere (even in my shoes). Clone was named for 2 reasons. The first was because I lost Schlaf's brother Prone (he was "prone" to accidents) and I figured Clone sounded similar to Cologne (Köln), a city in Germany. The half is for a stray (that I call The Stray) that comes into my house a lot. She's cute, but, won't let me touch her. I also have 2 fishes, and African Cichlid, and a Pleco (the kind that sucks up to the sides of the tank).